• [Appeal] Slide 2
  • [Appeal] Slide 1
  • [Appeal] Slide 5
Edward L. Wetmore

The Honourable Edward Ludlow Wetmore


1887 - 1907   Justice of the Supreme Court of the North-West Territories
1907 - 1912   First Chief Justice of Saskatchewan

Edward L. Wetmore was born in 1841 in Fredericton, New Brunswick. He was educated at the University of New Brunswick and was admitted to the New Brunswick bar in 1864. He served as mayor of Fredericton for two years.

Mr. Wetmore was appointed a puisne judge of the first Supreme Court of the North-West Territories in 1887, in the judicial district of Eastern Assiniboia and settled in Moosomin. Justice Wetmore placed a particular emphasis on courtroom decorum, and his interest in civil procedure helped shape the administration of justice in the West. He was known for his punctuality, even though he undertook his duties at a time when travel was often by scow or canoe.

When the Court was reorganized in 1907 to become the Supreme Court of Saskatchewan, Justice Wetmore was appointed the first Chief Justice of Saskatchewan. In 1909 he became the first Chancellor of the University of Saskatchewan. He served as Chief Justice until 1912.

The Honourable Edward L. Wetmore passed away in 1922.

Regina’s Wetmore Elementary School on Wallace Street was named in commemoration of the Honourable Edward L. Wetmore. The school closed in 1997 and was replaced with Wetmore Court Housing Development.

Back to Former Justices of the Court